843. 918. 1382

Taxi/Chauffeur Permits

How do I apply for a CHAUFFEUR’S PERMIT?

To be eligible to apply for a chauffeur’s permit within the City of Myrtle Beach you, applicants must be 21 years of age or older. First time applicants are required to submit the following documents:

  • A completed City of Myrtle Beach Chauffeur’s Permit application.  Failure to complete each section of the application could result in denial of a permit.
  • An official (certified) 10-year driving record from the SC Department of Motor Vehicles.  If the applicant has not resided in South Carolina for 10 years, a certified driving record is required from the state where the applicant previously resided, along with the driving record from South Carolina.
  • A criminal records check from the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED).  SLED charges a fee of $25.00 to obtain this document.  If the applicant has not resided in South Carolina for 10 years, a certified criminal records check is required from the state or municipality where the applicant previously resided, along with the criminal records check from SLED.

Once all required documents are complete, the Taxi Enforcement Officer reviews applications on Thursdays from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m., except holidays at the Myrtle Beach Police Annex building located at 3340 Mustang Avenue, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. If the officer approves the application, the applicant will be given a fee form for $50. All fees are paid at the Utility Billing Department, City Services Building, 921 Oak Street.  Receipts may be brought back to the annex between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, to receive the permit.

How do I get my Chauffeur’s permit renewed?

To renew a Chauffeur’s Permit that has not expired, a completed City of Myrtle Beach Chauffeur’s Permit application is required, along with a three-year driving record and an updated SLED report.  The Taxi Enforcement officer reviews applications on Thursdays from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m., except holidays at the Myrtle Beach Police Annex Building located at 3340 Mustang Avenue in Myrtle Beach.  If the officer approves the renewal application, the applicant will be given a fee form for $50.  All fees are paid at the Utility Billing Department, City Services Building, 921 Oak Street.  Receipts may be brought back to the annex between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, to receive the renewal permit.

  • If the Chauffeur’s Permit has expired, please refer to the instructions for a new permit.

For questions regarding this process, please contact PFC. Kevin Larke at (843) 918-1804 or klarke@cityofmyrtlebeach.com.

web design by